Charlotte Black Pride Board of Directors

Shann Fulton


Board Chair 

Gelisa Stitt


Board Co-Chair 

Starr Johnson


Board Treasurer

Jermaine Nakia Lee


Director of Development 


Quandrico Rutledge-Wade


Director of Community Outreach 

Charlotte Black Pride Director

Gladece Knights


 Director of Operations 

Lady Shenique Bethea-Overton


General Board Member 

Maurice Falls


 General Board Member

Social Media Relations  

Veronica Daughety


 General Board Member  

Linda Cox


Youth Program Coordinator 


Tan "TG" Cox


Volunteer Coordinator

F. D. Dorsey, II


Director of Communications

Website Manager

Charlotte Black Pride Board History

  In 2002, plans to host a Black Gay Pride event in Charlotte, North Carolina came to life. Spearheaded by Damon Blackman and Jermaine Nakia Lee; the inception of Charlotte's Black Gay Pride event began. Recognizing the value of mentoring, networking and needed resources, Blackman connected with the International Federation of Black Prides in Washington DC, while Nakia Lee began working on funding and programming. Together Blackman (Chair) and Nakia Lee (Co-chair) – formed the first official CNCBGP board. This board consisted of Lynkoya Handy (Treasurer) and community activist Monica Simpson (Secretary). Together they worked diligently to present and host Charlottes First Black Gay Pride Celebration in 2005. Driven by the event's established purpose to empower and strengthen the visibility of LGBT people of the African Diaspora in the Charlotte Community, the event drew a record-breaking 7000+ attendees. The 2005 theme was "A New Day". In 2008, Charlotte NC Black Gay Pride set out to refocus its purpose, mission, and vision. Charlotte NC Black Gay Pride (CNCBGP) became Charlotte Black Gay Pride (CBGP) in August of 2008 with 501C3 non-profit status.  

Today, under the name Charlotte Black Pride the current board has taken the "Step Up" to achieve what the first board set out to do.